Can't connect to softAP. Client does not receive IP Address

GeorgeFlorian1
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:32 pm

Can't connect to softAP. Client does not receive IP Address

Postby GeorgeFlorian1 » Fri Jul 02, 2021 11:34 am

I am trying to use https://github.com/DroneBridge/ESP32 on a ESP32-Wrover-B
I've flashed it using esp-idf-v4.2.1.
I am trying to connect to the ESP's AP with my phone but it doesn't work.
I keep getting the same two error messages on my phone:

Code: Select all

Couldn't authenticate connection
Couldn't get IP address
This is the Serial output:

Code: Select all

I (1186) phy_init: phy_version 4660,0162888,Dec 23 2020
I (1286) wifi:mode : softAP (24:6f:28:de:4d:59)
I (1296) wifi:Total power save buffer number: 16
I (1296) wifi:Init max length of beacon: 752/752
I (1296) wifi:Init max length of beacon: 752/752
I (38896) wifi:new:<1,0>, old:<1,0>, ap:<1,0>, sta:<255,255>, prof:1
I (38896) wifi:station: 2e:fa:09:ac:34:43 join, AID=1, b, 20
I (39106) DB_ESP32: Wifi AP started!
I (39116) TCP_SERVER: http_settings_server task started
I (39116) TCP_SERVER_SETUP: Opened TCP server on port 5760
I (39116) TCP_SERVER_SETUP: Opened TCP server on port 1603
I (39116) DB_CONTROL: Opened UDP socket on port 14550
I (39116) COMM: Started communication module
I (39126) DB_CONTROL: Started control module
I (57396) wifi:station: 2e:fa:09:ac:34:43 leave, AID = 1, bss_flags is 131121, bss:0x3ffc895c
I (57396) wifi:new:<1,0>, old:<1,0>, ap:<1,0>, sta:<255,255>, prof:1
I (57406) DB_ESP32: Wifi AP stopped!
I (60876) wifi:new:<1,0>, old:<1,0>, ap:<1,0>, sta:<255,255>, prof:1
I (60876) wifi:station: 2e:fa:09:ac:34:43 join, AID=1, b, 20
I (60906) wifi:new:<1,0>, old:<1,0>, ap:<1,0>, sta:<255,255>, prof:1
I (60906) wifi:station: 2e:fa:09:ac:34:43 join, AID=1, b, 20
I (62196) DB_ESP32: Wifi AP started!
I (80556) wifi:station: 2e:fa:09:ac:34:43 leave, AID = 1, bss_flags is 131121, bss:0x3ffc895c
I (80556) wifi:new:<1,0>, old:<1,0>, ap:<1,0>, sta:<255,255>, prof:1
I (80556) DB_ESP32: Wifi AP stopped!
I (85996) wifi:new:<1,0>, old:<1,0>, ap:<1,0>, sta:<255,255>, prof:1
I (85996) wifi:station: 2e:fa:09:ac:34:43 join, AID=1, b, 20
I (86076) DB_ESP32: Wifi AP started!
I (104266) wifi:station: 2e:fa:09:ac:34:43 leave, AID = 1, bss_flags is 131121, bss:0x3ffc895c
I (104266) wifi:new:<1,0>, old:<1,0>, ap:<1,0>, sta:<255,255>, prof:1
I (104266) DB_ESP32: Wifi AP stopped!
I (290946) wifi:new:<1,0>, old:<1,0>, ap:<1,0>, sta:<255,255>, prof:1
I (290946) wifi:station: 2e:fa:09:ac:34:43 join, AID=1, b, 20
I (291106) DB_ESP32: Wifi AP started!
I (309516) wifi:station: 2e:fa:09:ac:34:43 leave, AID = 1, bss_flags is 131121, bss:0x3ffc895c
I (309526) wifi:new:<1,0>, old:<1,0>, ap:<1,0>, sta:<255,255>, prof:1
I (309526) DB_ESP32: Wifi AP stopped!
What do you think ?
Last edited by GeorgeFlorian1 on Mon Jul 05, 2021 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mbratch
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:51 pm

Re: Can't connect to ESP's AP

Postby mbratch » Fri Jul 02, 2021 1:15 pm

Did you compile it for your platform, or did you just flash the precompiled binary? The binaries were compiled and tested on a DOIT ESP32.

GeorgeFlorian1
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:32 pm

Re: Can't connect to ESP's AP

Postby GeorgeFlorian1 » Sat Jul 03, 2021 10:41 am

mbratch wrote:
Fri Jul 02, 2021 1:15 pm
Did you compile it for your platform, or did you just flash the precompiled binary? The binaries were compiled and tested on a DOIT ESP32.
I have used the precompiled binaries. Huh, so that can cause issues ?
I will try to compile it for the board that I am using.
Thanks.

GeorgeFlorian1
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:32 pm

Re: Can't connect to ESP's AP

Postby GeorgeFlorian1 » Mon Jul 05, 2021 12:01 pm

mbratch wrote:
Fri Jul 02, 2021 1:15 pm
Did you compile it for your platform, or did you just flash the precompiled binary? The binaries were compiled and tested on a DOIT ESP32.
I just compiled the project for my board using the ESP-IDF extension on VSCode, but I still have the same problem.

I cannot connect to the AP. I can't connect with the PC nor the mobile phone.

User avatar
mbratch
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:51 pm

Re: Can't connect to ESP's AP

Postby mbratch » Tue Jul 06, 2021 4:06 pm

GeorgeFlorian1 wrote:
Mon Jul 05, 2021 12:01 pm
I just compiled the project for my board using the ESP-IDF extension on VSCode, but I still have the same problem.

I cannot connect to the AP. I can't connect with the PC nor the mobile phone.
Sorry for asking a dumb question, but since you haven't mentioned any details... the posted code they have would have their own credentials for AP access. Did you confirm that the credentials in the version you built match your AP?

GeorgeFlorian1
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:32 pm

Re: Can't connect to ESP's AP

Postby GeorgeFlorian1 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 9:27 am

mbratch wrote:
Tue Jul 06, 2021 4:06 pm
GeorgeFlorian1 wrote:
Mon Jul 05, 2021 12:01 pm
I just compiled the project for my board using the ESP-IDF extension on VSCode, but I still have the same problem.

I cannot connect to the AP. I can't connect with the PC nor the mobile phone.
Sorry for asking a dumb question, but since you haven't mentioned any details... the posted code they have would have their own credentials for AP access. Did you confirm that the credentials in the version you built match your AP?
I am not trying to connect the ESP to an AP.

The ESP is in softAP mode and I am trying to connect to it using a phone and/or a PC.
These are the softAP credentials:

Code: Select all

uint8_t DEFAULT_SSID[32] = "DroneBridge ESP32";
uint8_t DEFAULT_PWD[64] = "dronebridge";

User avatar
mbratch
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:51 pm

Re: Can't connect to ESP's AP

Postby mbratch » Thu Jul 08, 2021 7:09 pm

GeorgeFlorian1 wrote:
Thu Jul 08, 2021 9:27 am
I am not trying to connect the ESP to an AP.

The ESP is in softAP mode and I am trying to connect to it using a phone and/or a PC.
These are the softAP credentials:

Code: Select all

uint8_t DEFAULT_SSID[32] = "DroneBridge ESP32";
uint8_t DEFAULT_PWD[64] = "dronebridge";
Right, sorry about that. I saw in your earlier list of that the ap is active, then it's stopped. Have you examined the source to determine under what conditions it might be stopped?

GeorgeFlorian1
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:32 pm

Re: Can't connect to ESP's AP

Postby GeorgeFlorian1 » Mon Jul 12, 2021 11:16 am

mbratch wrote:
Thu Jul 08, 2021 7:09 pm
Have you examined the source to determine under what conditions it might be stopped?
What source ? I don't know what else to examine or do.
In the latest attempt I've build and flashed the project using the esp-idf python tool and I am powering the ESP via the USB.

Maybe it's because I tried using GPIO17.
https://www.esp32.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=21964

I don't even know anymore. I moved to different pins and the result is still the same.
I think I will get a new ESP other than Wrover.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: g3_san and 82 guests