Want to compile for ESP32S3 not ESP32
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2024 11:35 pm
Want to compile for ESP32S3 not ESP32
I have a Waveshare ESP32S3 A7670E board and am trying to get hello_world from the ESP-IDF to work. I can compile but when trying to flash, it tells me
A fatal error occurred: This chip is ESP32-S3 not ESP32. Wrong --chip argument?
I am at a loss to understand where I should configure the environment for ESP32-S3. Probably just a simple setting, but I am not able to find it. Help appreciated.
A fatal error occurred: This chip is ESP32-S3 not ESP32. Wrong --chip argument?
I am at a loss to understand where I should configure the environment for ESP32-S3. Probably just a simple setting, but I am not able to find it. Help appreciated.
-
- Posts: 9985
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: Want to compile for ESP32S3 not ESP32
Pretty simple indeed. Just do `idf.py set-target esp32s2`.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2024 11:35 pm
Re: Want to compile for ESP32S3 not ESP32
Thanks! I have tried it but get:
>idf.py set-target esp32s3
Adding "set-target"'s dependency "fullclean" to list of commands with default set of options.
Executing action: fullclean
Executing action: set-target
Set Target to: esp32s3, new sdkconfig will be created.
Target 'esp32s3' specified on command line is not consistent with target 'esp32' in the environment.
When I then try to compile and flash, the problem remains. Is there anywhere else I need to change the target?
>idf.py set-target esp32s3
Adding "set-target"'s dependency "fullclean" to list of commands with default set of options.
Executing action: fullclean
Executing action: set-target
Set Target to: esp32s3, new sdkconfig will be created.
Target 'esp32s3' specified on command line is not consistent with target 'esp32' in the environment.
When I then try to compile and flash, the problem remains. Is there anywhere else I need to change the target?
-
- Posts: 9985
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: Want to compile for ESP32S3 not ESP32
Not sure. Are you using vscode or something? If so, you may need to change it in the IDE.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2024 11:35 pm
Re: Want to compile for ESP32S3 not ESP32
Yes, I am using VS Code, but I can't find where to change the environment target setting there. Any ideas?
-
- Posts: 9985
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: Want to compile for ESP32S3 not ESP32
I think it's one of the buttons on the bottom bar, but I don't use vscode myself, so I don't know for sure.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2024 11:35 pm
Re: Want to compile for ESP32S3 not ESP32
I got it to work by running "New project" in the Welcome to Espressif IDF extensions graphical interface rather than following the command line procedure outlined by Espressif. Thanks for assistance!
Re: Want to compile for ESP32S3 not ESP32
you can try
export IDF_TARGET=esp32s3
# then
idf.py set-target esp32s3
export IDF_TARGET=esp32s3
# then
idf.py set-target esp32s3
Re: Want to compile for ESP32S3 not ESP32
for my case, i'm using idf terminal in vscode, the solution is simply open a new terminal after set-target, probably there is a bug that the terminal failed to refresh it's env even though we set the target successfully
-
- Posts: 2045
- Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2022 7:38 pm
- Location: Europe, Germany
Re: Want to compile for ESP32S3 not ESP32
To avoid the hassle, I include this into my projects' CMakeLists.txt:
Code: Select all
if(NOT DEFINED ENV{IDF_TARGET})
set(ENV{IDF_TARGET} esp32s3)
message("IDF_TARGET not set, defaulting to: $ENV{IDF_TARGET}")
endif()
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 222 guests