Page 1 of 2

ESP32-DevKitC32D

Posted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 12:57 am
by ScriptBasic
I recieved my ESP32-DevKitC32D today. I selected the ESP32C3 as my chip type but when I tried to flash the device it said the chip type is ESP32. (what I used for my ESP32-PICO) When I selected ESP32 as the chip type it allowed it to flash the device. The hello word example said it only had 2MB of flash and running at 1.6 ghz like the Pico.

Is there a configure script that made for my new ESP32 device?

Thanks for any help one might provide.

John

Re: ESP32-DevKitC32D

Posted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 3:40 am
by ESP_Sprite
What SDK, version etc are you using? How did you select ESP32C3?

Re: ESP32-DevKitC32D

Posted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 4:12 am
by ScriptBasic
Version:
ESP-IDF v4.4-dev-4-g73db14240

Select Chip:
idf.py set-target esp32

This worked for my ESP32-PICO and my new board ESP-32-DEVKIT-32D. Failed on flash when I tried esp32c3

My set-target options:
esp32
eso32s2
esp32c3
esp32c3
linux

Thanks for the reply and willingness to lend a hand.

Re: ESP32-DevKitC32D

Posted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 4:25 am
by ESP_Sprite
ScriptBasic wrote:
Thu Mar 11, 2021 4:12 am
Select Chip:
idf.py set-target esp32
Well, yeah. You don't have an ESP32 but an ESP32C3 on your hands. Those are entirely different beasts. Try something like
idf.py --preview set-target esp32c3

Re: ESP32-DevKitC32D

Posted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 5:19 am
by ScriptBasic
I tried your idf.py --preview set-target esp32c3 and rebuilt the Hello World project. When I try to flash the project I get the following error message.

A fatal error has occurred: This chip is ESP32 not ESP32-C3. Wrong --chip argument?

Re: ESP32-DevKitC32D

Posted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 5:52 am
by ScriptBasic
When I run esptool chip_id it says the following.

Detecting chip type ESP32
Chip is ESP32-D0WD (rev 1)
Warning: ESP32 has no Chip ID.

Re: ESP32-DevKitC32D

Posted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 8:43 am
by ESP_Sprite
Ah, sorry, I misread your initial post. Your devkit does not have an ESP32C3; it's a 'standard' ESP32. You're supposed to read the typenumber as ESP32-DevkitC-32D. As such, you should be able to program & flash the chip using the 'esp32' setting, as you did before.

Re: ESP32-DevKitC32D

Posted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 2:56 pm
by ScriptBasic
I don't understand why the Hello World example says I only have 2 MB of flash rather than 4 MB as the docs say.

Re: ESP32-DevKitC32D

Posted: Fri Mar 12, 2021 1:29 am
by ESP_Sprite
IIRC, that amount is set in menuconfig: 'Serial flasher config -> Flash size'

Re: ESP32-DevKitC32D

Posted: Fri Mar 12, 2021 3:42 am
by ScriptBasic
Thanks!

I'll give that a try to see all the flash memory.