Debugging custom ESP32-SOLO-1 board

rpoelvogels
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:35 am

Debugging custom ESP32-SOLO-1 board

Postby rpoelvogels » Tue Mar 09, 2021 9:21 am

Hi all,

I've designed a custom board using the ESP32-solo-1. I'm using JTAG (JLink) to flash and debug it (currently from command line, intent to switch to Eclipse when everything is working).
I can flash it just fine with the following command:

Code: Select all

openocd -f interface/jlink.cfg -f target/esp32-solo-1.cfg -c "program_esp /Users/remco/eclipse-workspace/IDFTest/build/app-template.bin 0x10000 verify"
The console log shows that verification was OK.

When I then start a debug session (from a second terminal) using

Code: Select all

xtensa-esp32-elf-gdb -x gdbinit ~/eclipse-workspace/IDFTest/build/app-template.elf
, the temporary breakpoint at app_main() is never hit.

I've recompiled the app_template IDF example with FreeRTOS configured to use only a single core.
When I use a DevKitC V4 development board (with ESP32-WROOM-32D), the previous commands will indeed result in GDB stopping at the app_main() breakpoint. So it seems the JTAG setup and application are fine.

How can I verify why my custom board never hits the app_main() breakpoint?

Thanks in advance.

Kind regards,

Remco Poelstra

rpoelvogels
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:35 am

Re: Debugging custom ESP32-SOLO-1 board

Postby rpoelvogels » Tue Mar 09, 2021 11:50 am

It turned out that the pre-programmed bootloader and partition table didn't run the application from 0x10000, but from 0x100000 (notice an additional '0'). Overwriting the bootloader and partition table with binaries from my compiled project solved the problems.

jbcarlso@ncsu.edu
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 29, 2021 2:46 pm

Re: Debugging custom ESP32-SOLO-1 board

Postby jbcarlso@ncsu.edu » Sat May 29, 2021 2:58 pm

I know it has been some time since your post, but hopefully you can help me. I purchased the ESP32-Solo-1 to replace a IOT module I had been using. It matches up with the same foot print, and I have it wired up and connected to my computer via a usb-to-serial interface. I have power it up and never get any output from the Solo. In my research, it is supposed to have a default program installed. I am not getting anything out of the solo serial port. Is the information I found wrong, and I need to program it first? Can I program it through the Serial Port?
Thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], nopnop2002 and 82 guests